IMOS is one of the national research infrastructure capabilities currently supported under the Australian Government’s National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy (NCRIS).

On 23 November 2016 seven parties entered into the IMOS Principal Participants Agreement (IMOS UJV), an unincorporated joint venture by which the Parties have agreed that the activities of IMOS are to be governed by the terms and conditions of the IMOS UJV:

  • The initial seven Parties are University of Tasmania, Australian Institute of Marine Science, Bureau of Meteorology, CSIRO, South Australian Research and Development Institute, Sydney Institute of Marine Science and University of Western Australia.
  • The Parties agreed the University of Tasmania is the Lead Agent and host and operator of the IMOS Office
  • The Parties have agreed Associate Participants are Curtin University and the Australian Antarctic Division
  • The IMOS Governing Board, led by and Independent Chair is responsible for governance of IMOS under the UJV


IMOS Governing Board

The IMOS Governing Board undertake the following functions:

  • Strategic planning, overall direction and control
  • Determining policy
  • Receipt and consideration of reports and accounts
  • Endorse entering into any new, any changes to, and monitoring of compliance with the Funding Agreements
  • Advise and assist the Lead Agent in the management of IMOS business risks
  • Oversee the communication plan and activities of IMOS
  • Maintain oversight of any major reviews or publications on IMOS
  • Provide other advice and input as required


Board membership

Independent Chair

Independent Board Members

Commodore Fiona Freeman

Royal Australian Navy, Hydrographer of Australia.

Sue Weston

Chief Executive Officer, Comcare.

Michele Burford 

Dean (Research Infrastructure), Griffith University.



Dr Michelle Heupel 

IMOS Director.

Members representing UJV Partners

Dr Peter Appleford

Executive Director, South Australian Research and Development Institute (SARDI).

Dr Paul Hardisty

Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS).

Prof Anthony Koutoulis

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) University of Tasmania.

Prof Tim Colmer

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) The University of Western Australia.

Ms Nichole Brinsmead​​​​​​​

Head, Data and Digital, Bureau of Meteorology.

Martina Doblin

Director and Chief Executive Officer Sydney Institute of Marine Science.

Dr Andreas Schiller

Acting Director of CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere.

IMOS Science and Technology Advisory Committee

The IMOS Science and Technology Advisory Committee plays a critical role for IMOS as it represents the scientific opinion of the marine and climate research community, and will work to advise the IMOS Office on the scientific rationale and direction of a national observing system.

  • The committee will provide advice and assessments to the IMOS Office on the technical implementation by facilities and sub-facilities, and on the scientific merit of research undertaken with IMOS data.
  • The committee will also work to advise the IMOS Office on the development, application and implementation of new technologies within the national observing system.
  • It will report to the IMOS Director. Any recommendations made by the committee will be implemented following standard IMOS approval processes, including Board endorsement as applicable.