Australia’s Integrated Marine Observing System (IMOS) is enabled by the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure (NCRIS). It is operated by a consortium of institutions as an unincorporated joint venture, with the University of Tasmania as Lead Agent.

Principal Participants

University of Tasmania

The University of Tasmania (UTAS) has a growing reputation as one of Australia’s foremost teaching and research institutions. With a history spanning almost 125 years, the university is ranked in the top ten research universities in Australia and in the top two per cent of universities in the world.    

The University of Tasmania operates 

Australian Institute of Marine Science

The Australian Institute of Marine Science (AIMS) is Australia’s premiere tropical marine research agency. It provides large-scale, long-term and world-class research that helps governments, industry and the wider community to make informed decisions about the management of Australia’s marine estate.

The Australian Institute of Marine Science operates 

Bureau of Meteorology

The Bureau of Meteorology is Australia's national weather, climate and water agency. It provides observational, meteorological, hydrological and oceanographic services and by undertaking research into science and environment related issues in support of its operations and services.

The Bureau of Meteorology operates

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)

CSIRO, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, is Australia's national science agency and one of the largest and most diverse research agencies in the world. The CSIRO Oceans and Atmosphere Flagship provides research to help plan for and respond to weather and climate related natural hazards and ensure sustainable coastal development and growth of marine industries.

CSIRO operates 

Sydney Institute of Marine Science

SIMS conducts multidisciplinary marine research across five core research themes  - Urbanisation, Biodiversity, Climate Change, Ocean Resources, and Marine Management. The collaborative research profile of the Institute harnesses the strengths of NSW’s leading marine scientists and universities (includes The University of Sydney, Macquarie University, The University of New South Wales and University of Technology Sydney).

SIMS operates

South Australian Research & Development Institute

SARDI is the South Australian Government's principal research institute, a research division of Primary Industries and Regions SA (PIRSA). It aims to deliver scientific solutions for primary industries and to position agricultural, food, aquatic and bioscience industries as internationally competitive and ecologically sustainable.

SARDI operates

University of Western Australia

The University of Western Australia (UWA) was established in 1911 as the State's first university. Its mission is to advance, transmit and sustain knowledge and understanding through the conduct of teaching, research and scholarship at the highest international standards for the benefit of the Western Australian, Australian and international communities.

University of Western Australa

Associate Participants

Curtin University

Curtin University operates

Australian Antarctic Division

The Australian Antarctic Division (AAD) is responsible for advancement of Australia’s strategic, scientific, environmental and economic interests in the Antarctic by protecting administering and researching the region.

Deakin University

Deakin University operates

The University of Melbourne

The University of Melbourne operates